Tags

, , , ,

I am delighted to report that recently I’ve been getting lots of compliments about my level of Danish from my wife’s friends and family here in Denmark.

The secret to my Danish language learning is a massive focus on consistency. That’s it. Just doing something every day with Danish, and making a habit out of it. You can also see my efforts in this from how often I update this blog – here’s a graph showing how my blog posting went from being irregular to consistently publishing something every week.

wordpressgraph

You can also see this from how often I use Lang-8. Here is a snapshot of how often I wrote in November 2015:

lang-8Nov2015

And let’s compare that to how frequently I wrote in, say, May 2016:

Lang-8May2016

(for those who are curious, you can see my Lang-8 profile here)

The truth is, I’ve been putting in a lot of hard work with learning Danish. Again, the focus is purely on consistency. This means learning Danish even when I don’t feel like it. It is really paying off, and now the thought of not posting here every week, or practising Danish daily is a bit weird.

At the time of writing, my Duolingo streak is also at 128 days. I am successfully maintaining most of my Danish tree at a completely gold colour. Since I passed my Prøve i Dansk 3 exam, I’ve been learning Esperanto a bit on Duolingo, just for fun. Esperanto is a really satisfying language to learn – maybe I’ll write a blog post about that in the future.

In the future I also would like to improve the quality of writing on this blog. Almost all of these posts are the first drafts, often published with mistakes and poor quality writing which isn’t very concise and to the point.

It feels liberating to be free from perfectionism a bit and to just modestly continue with doing what I’m doing. The local time here is 23:30, so I am going to hit “Publish” and see you next week!

 

