Tags

, , ,

So last week I wrote about how I will pass Studieprøven, and I was putting a plan together. It felt great to scope out the task and take action. But more research was needed.

I discovered a wonderful blog containing detailed valuable information about studieprøven, called An American Girl’s Adventures in Denmark. From scouring her blog I can see that she began to learn Danish in towards the end of 2011, moved to Denmark in the Summer of 2012 and passed studieprøven in 2014 after living in Denmark for just 2 years. That is incredibly impressive, and I am convinced she is a genius.

Her blog suggests listening to a podcast called Third Ear as training for the studieprøven lytteforståelse section. This is a ‘digital magazine’ podcast with witty, intriguing stories told by very clever and articulate Danish people. Or so I understand it. I mean when I listened to it, I couldn’t follow along with it at all! So much for training for the Studieprøven lytteforståelse.

I have generally been trying to test my Danish as much as possible this past week. I did a mock writing test for Prøve i Dansk 3, the level lower than studieprøven, and honestly I found it to be quite a struggle. It was a free writing test where I had 2 1/2 hours to complete it, but just after 1 1/2 hours I found myself unable to write anything else. The words simply weren’t coming and I was painfully aware that I need to work on my exam technique.

I also did a Duolingo progress quiz, and achieved a 3.84 out of 5. This is the highest mark yet from the progress quiz (5 months ago I got a weak 1.78 out of 5). The Duolingo progress quiz was more for fun than anything else, but I guess it is still somewhat of an indicator of how am doing with Danish.

I also made enquiries about being a teacher here in Denmark, and I was relieved to find out that Prøve i Dansk 3 is enough to be accepted onto a ‘lærerpakken’ course. This is a 1 year course that helps prepare me for a full blown teacher training course at a university.

I decided that it is a better idea to aim for a strong pass in the B2 level Prøve i Dansk 3 exam, than to hope for a weak pass with the C1 level Studieprøven exam.

On the 3rd of March, I will have a conversation with a course leader for the lærerpakken course to see if I am eligible. Earlier on that same day, I will also be having a module test for the Prøve i Dansk 3 course that I am currently enrolled on in my language school. This is a 3 hour test to see how I am doing and if the language school feels that I am ready to go on to do the real Prøve i Dansk 3 test in May/June.

So now I will prepare for my modultest and the conversation for the lærerpakken course. See you guys next week!

 

 

