This week I have been reading up on how I will achieve a pass in the Danish studieprøven exam that will allow me to (hopefully) progress into further studies at a Danish university.

Let’s start from the beginning.

Step 1: Gather the materials

I downloaded a studieprøven vejledning file from here (the link goes to a .pdf download). This is an extensive 27 page document that gives lots of information about the exam. The most recent version of the file I could find is from Autumn 2014, although there is also a version online from 2011. This leads me to infer that the vejledning is not updated annually, so I will base all of my preparations for this exam from the 2014 vejledning.

Since I’m not at all used to reading academic documents in Danish, I am coming across a lot of new words and phrases. I’ve found myself frequently using den danske ordbog, a monolingual danish dictionary which is free and most importantly it provides several examples of words being used in context. This is extremely important when learning new vocabulary.

Step 2: Look at what is required

There is a lot of writing about the purpose of the exam, and what is tested and what is not tested. The goal of the exam is to demonstrate that I have a good academic grasp of Danish and am able to follow lectures, presentations, debates, etc. And that I am also able to formulate my ideas and respond in a suitable academic way both in written and verbal forms.

What I am really interested in are specific goals that I can work towards. This way I can

There are 4 main areas of this examination:

  • Læseforståelse (reading comprehension) – 1 hour 30 mins
    • Part 1 – Scanning a long text for specific information. 20 ‘kort svar’ questions
    • Parts 2A and 2B – Skimming a text for comprehension. 10 questions of gap fills and multiple choice answers.
    • Part 3 – Skimming a text for comprehension. 15 questions of gap fills
  • Skriftlig fremstilling (written production) – 3 hours
    • Write a minimum of 400 words in an academic context. Analyse and expand on a set of factual information, with clear and well structured arguments.
  • Lytteforståelse (listening comprehension) – Approximately 1 hour
    • Part 1 – Listening to a text that is read aloud, take notes. 10 ‘kort svar’ questions.
    • Part 2 – Listening to a text that is read aloud, fill in the gaps on a provided worksheet. 30 questions.
  • Muntlig kommunikation (verbal communication) – 30 minutes
    • Do a 2 minute presentation on yourself, followed by a 5 minute prepared presentation. There will be 3 presentation topics to prepare, from which only one of the topics will be randomly chosen on the day.
    • After the presentations, there will be a follow up interview.

 

Step 3: Identify the next step

The next step is to get as many past papers for studieprøven as possible, so that I can train myself. This is not as easy task, because the many of the papers use authentic material which is copyrighted and not freely available.

So the next best thing is to practise similar tasks to studieprøven. My language school has previous tests for ‘Prøve i Dansk 3’ (a similar test at a B2 level the follows the same structure) and I can use those to get a rough idea of what to expect. There are also two teachers at my language school who are very motivated and interested in helping me to progress in Danish, so I can ask them for advice on how to prepare myself for the upcoming exams.

Sadly I’ve run out of time this week, but I’ll give another update next Sunday!

