Tags

, , ,

There’s no doubt about it: learning a foreign language requires a lot of hard work! A lot of people are put off by this daunting fact, expecting that it will take an incredible amount of commitment to learn a language.
But it turns out that by changing a few small habits in your daily routine, you too can magically make time to learn a language!

2014-06-29 13.03.43

As long as you have a smartphone and a set of headphones, almost anywhere can be a language learning lab. I personally use my commute to practise flashcards, listening in a foreign language and if I have a bag with me, I also take a language book to read along while I listen to audio materials (listening and reading at the same time is a really effective way to get a feel for a language!).

But why bother?

I used to be really lazy, and told myself:

I’ve only got 10 minutes on this bus so there won’t be enough time to get started with practising a language.

But then things changed when I started to get rid of silly excuses and changed my thinking to:

I’ve only got 10 minutes on the bus, so let’s get through as much as I can before then!

The best thing about all of this, is that I’m modifying an existing behaviour to aid language learning. I’m not specifically scheduling language learning time. So in terms of my schedule and routine, I’m gaining language learning experience “for free”. And believe me, small changes in your habits and routines add up to a lot.

So if you find yourself commuting frequently, how much language learning time are you missing out on?

