Tags

, ,

I met my Thai University friends recently and we all went to restaurant and bar. There were about 10 of us all drinking and chilling out.

I’ve known these friends for 3 years now, and they are a large part of the reason why I decided to learn Thai and other languages too.

I see them every month or so, and it’s really cool to help gauge my progress with the language. They are all completely fluent in English, but now when they switch to speaking Thai I can still get the gist of what they are talking about!

In the bar, the lights got darker and the music got louder, and then people were getting into the party mood and started dancing.

I enjoy parties, but I secretly hate this type of environment because attempts at communication become strained at best: the loud music makes everything so much harder!

I found that when I did speak to my friends at this point, it was easier to only speak Thai. At first I spoke English, and they didn’t get it, so I tried saying the same thing in Thai and they magically understood despite the incredibly loud music.

It really was like a type of extreme pronunciation test. In that environment, you need to say the right words in the right way. So that was a great confidence boost for me and my Thai speaking skills!

