Tags

, ,

It is only a few days away from my first anniversary of life in Thailand. I don’t really complain about the language barrier here to my friends back home in the UK, and many of them seem to think that I am fluent or at least have a really strong command of the language.

Which couldn’t be further from the truth!

purple-candle1

Today I was in a huge supermarket and I wanted to buy a candle for decoration in my apartment. After wandering about for a bit, I plucked up the courage to ask some staff.

Despite the help of this fantastic article by Ricker Dockum on WomenLearnThai.com, I was only able to get directed to a supermarket aisle containing assorted lightbulbs.

There are so many fantastic resources out there on the internet about learning languages and finding coping strategies and all sorts of hints and tips. But today was a humbling reminder that sometimes, you won’t be able to break that language barrier and get your point across.

And I think it is ok to accept that and to simply be as light hearted about it as possible. Also: I need to be able to get better at giving clues and describing things in Thai!

