Tags

, , , , ,

This skit from Saturday Night Live made me laugh a lot!

Joking aside, as a single western man learning Thai it is bound to raise a few eyebrows and invite some questions.

The truth is that I learn Thai because I have Thai friends. Before I came here I was studying in the UK at Teesside University. While I was at Teesside, I volunteered to help international students – showing them around the campus and the local area.

I got to know many students from Thailand, Malaysia, France, Germany, and China. I’m happy to say that I am still good friends with these students; particularly my friends from Thailand.

Honestly, suddenly becoming interested in Thai language and culture was as much of a surprise to me as it was to everyone else! Sometimes people think I am a Thailand equivalent to a Japanese Otaku, and have always had an “asian obsession”. This probably isn’t helped by the fact I have an interest in video games and (these days at least) comics. The comics thing is pretty new – I use them to learn language – I’ll write more on that in another post in the future.

